The Post – Pregnant Scarlett O’Hara and the Proud Father

I am going to be out of the office today, so a brief, fun posting with pictures of pregnant Scarlett O’Hara carrying her larval fiddler crab babies. Also a shot or two of the proud father, Admiral Byrd, who is STILL waving his claw. I am determined to get a really good shot of him doing that claw wave, but these aren’t too bad.

fiddler-crabs-feb-18-2008-326.jpg fiddler-crabs-feb-18-2008-303-450px.jpg fiddler-crabs-feb-18-2008-313-450px.jpg

Here are some shots of “the babies.” They are the brown mass of egg-looking things tucked in that shelf on her abdomen. They’re not the sharpest shots, but then, Scarlett O’Hara is not the most cooperative super-model. She won’t stand still. Also, it’s hard to get a shot where she’s not moving her claws. She is CONSTANTLY shoving food in her mouth – she is a two-fisted, non-stop eater. I guess though, she is eating for a few thousand? 🙂

fiddler-crabs-feb-18-2008-220-450px.jpg fiddler-crabs-feb-18-2008-259-450px.jpg fiddler-crabs-feb-18-2008-268-450px.jpg

Admiral Byrd spots me and tries to hide in the corner of the tank against the live rock. The grayish streak is the silicone sealant in corner of the tank. I think he likes to hide behind that strip and also the thermometer strip (not seen) because it blocks his vision of me – that whole “if he can’t see me, then I don’t exist and he’s safe,” mentality? What do you want from a creature with a brain the size of a pinpoint?

The other two pictures are classic Admiral Byrd poses. He sometimes spends all day with his large claw in the air, sometime both claws in the air. While I know he’s either trying to scare me off or encourage the ladies, sometimes when he has both claws up, he looks like he’s paying homage to the god of the tank, the aquarium light above. He is also very pragmatic when trying to show off for the ladies. He’ll have his large claw up to get their attention, while using his smaller claw to shove food in his mouth. A guy has to eat, right?

See you tomorrow!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “The Post – Pregnant Scarlett O’Hara and the Proud Father”

  1. francisco Says:

    well my crab is currently pregnant, how are yours and how long does it take for her to give the final blow?

    • debrabailey Says:

      At this point, both of my females are gone and I am not considering getting more females. I think within a couple of weeks of noting mine were pregnant, they usually gave birth. You can look over the posts listed on my blog page whose title is about what gives with all the fiddler crab things, and there’s entries there about the process from noticing my pregnant females, through birth, and my efforts to keep the babies alive. Good reading!

  2. 2010 in review « Soul Mosaic Says:

    […] The Post – Pregnant Scarlett O’Hara and the Proud Father February 20082 comments 3 […]

Leave a Reply

