The Post – Emergency Call for Fiddler Baby Help

I just received this message:

“Help I think I have baby Fiddler crab….hundreds. I got two Fiddler crabs from Petsmart for my kids and now there are hundreds of little micro fish (they kinda look like sperm) swimming in the water. Perhaps I should have cleaned the tank more often or do I have babies?”

I think you have babies. Now the question is, what do you want to do? If you don’t want to deal with raising them, then ignore the situation. The babies are tough to raise even when you are trying to succeed. Nature and the adult fiddler crabs will take care of things. The babies, short of a miracle, won’t survive without considerable intervention on your part. Many die off soon after birth, just the way of things. Many will die off due to lack of proper water parameters, food source, and water currents. And….mommy and daddy will no doubt eat a bunch of them. And if you have a water filter running in the tank, many will be sucked through that and caught in the filter lining. So don’t worry. Within a few days, they’ll be gone.

If on the other hand, you want to raise them, please read through my posts on the sidebar page entitled:

And What’s the Deal With All the Fiddler Crab Stuff

You’ll have to work fast – need baby food, tank, clean brackish water, an air bubbler….I frankly think it’s too late to do this at this stage, but if you’re REALLY intent on it, read my posts and go for it! My best to you and your fiddlers, whatever you choose!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

