The Gift

I’ve been remiss in my gifts, a casualty of just exhaustion, illness, and recovery. I’m preparing a teaching on the mind training slogans of Atisha, an 11th century Buddhist master, for my meditation group. The slogans are also known as Lojong, and teach emptiness and compassion, and reinfornce the ideal of sending and taking – you send what you’d prefer to cling to….your compassion, love and equanimity, and you take what you’d rather reject….the things that scare you. In this way, you share your humanity with all mankind.

Pema Chodron works heavily in this area. In searching for things to add to my own teachings I came across this quote of hers on another blog, My Inner Edge, and it is my gift to all today. Namaste.

Compassion practice is daring. It involves learning to relax and allowing ourselves to move gently toward what scares us. The trick to doing this is to stay with emotional distress without tightening into aversion; to let fear soften us rather than harden into resistance.

– PEMA CHODRON –

Leave a Reply

